The Sweetest Sour of Them All

4 Jun

It occurred to me today that the lemon is proof positive that anything sour can be made delightfully sweet! Lemon bars, lemon ice, lemonade, lemon meringue pie, lemon pound cake, the sky’s the limit when it comes to lemon-aided desserts (and I love them all!)

Surely this realization must have some application to every day life.  Of course there’s the old adage, when life gives you lemons make … well, you know the rest.

It’s certainly been true in my life that very sour situations have turned out to have very sweet endings.  Less then a year after my father died, I met my future husband – we connected on the first night over a discussion about our fathers, his had passed away five years prior.

Life these days has become pretty sour.  Recession.  Failing institutions.  Politics.  You name it.  And don’t get me started on the news.  Is there no flip side?  Nothing positive to report?  I know I said yesterday that I don’t believe in positive just for the sake of always being positive (that’s phony), but I don’t believe the glass is half empty either.  A perpetually negative, sour outlook is a sure recipe for an unhappy life.  There’s a fine line between sarcasm and an out and out cynic.

So if that venerable tart, Ms. Sour Lemon, can dress herself up in so many sweet ways.  Well, why not us?

Looking at it from my oil spill clogged glasses, I’m thinking maybe the oil spill will turn from sour to sweet if it causes us all to rethink our dependence on crude oil.  We needed to get off that tip anyway.  And the sooner the better.  Perhaps clean alternative energies will be met with less legislative and lobbying resistance in light of this latest debacle.  Maybe, just maybe, caring about the environment will become a “norm” and not an “activist” cause.

That would be sweet.

Leave a Reply

