Virtually Friends…

1 Jul

I can remember when the Internet, in the form of the World Wide Web, was introduced to the public @ large.  Actually, I remember using Gopher and FTP archives prior to an official Web.  I’m dating myself, but I’m not that old, really, I was only 21 (give or take) at the time.  I worked in an IT department and some of my co-workers were former employees of DEC, the company that made VAX and… oh, never mind, now I’m really dating myself.

Anyhow, every time I use Twitter, I’m reminded of how hesitant cautious everyone felt about making connections with people they didn’t  know.  It was uncharted territory.  Then came online dating sites, and that really tested our willingness to make connections “virtually.” Jump forward to today, and here we are tweeting and friending and blogging into the virtual unknown.

This is really what “space, the final frontier” has become.

And to be sure, there is reason to be cautious still.  Just like real life, everyone’s motives are not what they appear to be or even, sometimes, what they are presented to be….

Yet.

And still.

I love making virtual friends.  In fact, sometimes, I find that the friends I make virtually have more in common with my personal likes and dislikes than ones I might meet on the street.  Nothing can replace the face to face connections that human society needs and craves.  But making true connections and friends online means we have to employ parts of ourselves that we might not otherwise use.  Opening up at times in a way that promotes introspection as much as anything else.

This is a good thing!

It’s a brave new world, and times they are a changing… and that’s as it should be.  How else could a stay-at-home mom have friends in India, New Zealand, Canada and coast to coast in the USA?

Have a great story of a virtual friendship?  Be sure to share it with us here!

2 Responses to “Virtually Friends…”

  1. Lauri Rottmayer July 1, 2010 at 7:38 pm #

    True, true. And I love being your virtual friend! 🙂

    • The Social Writer July 1, 2010 at 9:30 pm #

      Thanks for stopping by Lauri! One of these days I’ll have to mosey on down to OK and see you!

Leave a Reply

